The Indian Ocean Rim Association (IORA) is an inter-governmental organisation established on 7 March 1997 to enhance economic dialogue and regional cooperation to promote sustainable growth and balanced development for a prosperous Indian Ocean Rim. The vision for IORA originated during a visit by late President Nelson Mandela of South Africa to India in 1995, where he said:

“The natural urge of the facts of history and geography… should broaden itself to include the concept of an Indian Ocean Rim for socioeconomic co-operation and other peaceful endeavours. Recent changes in the international system demand that the countries of the Indian Ocean shall become a single platform.”

Australia, Bangladesh, Comoros, India, Indonesia, Iran, Kenya, Madagascar, Malaysia, Mauritius, Mozambique, Oman, Seychelles, Singapore, Somalia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, Yemen.

China, France, Japan, United States of America, Egypt, Germany and the United Kingdom.
  • Maritime Safety & Security
  • Trade & Investment Facilitation
  • Fisheries Management
  • Disaster Risk Management
  • Tourism Promotion & Cultural Exchanges
  • Academic, Science & Technology
  • Blue Economy
  • Women’s Economic Empowerment

The 1st IORA Leaders’ Summit was hosted by the Republic of Indonesia on 7 March 2017 in Jakarta. The Summit was entitled ‘Strengthening Maritime Cooperation for a Peaceful, Stable and Prosperous Indian Ocean’, and Prime Ministers and Presidents from the region issued the milestone IORA Concord and accompanying IORA Action Plan for 2017 – 2021.

IORA’s apex body is the Council of Foreign Ministers (COM) which meets annually. The Republic of Indonesia has been the Chair of IORA since 2015. The Republic of South Africa will assume the role for 2017-2019, followed by the United Arab Emirates. A committee of Senior Officials (CSO) meets twice a year to progress IORA’s agenda and consider recommendations by Working Groups and forums of officials, business and academics to implement policies and projects to improve the lives of people in the Indian Ocean Member States.

Fisheries Support Unit (FSU)

Headquartered in the Sultanate of Oman since 2003, FSU plays an important role in enhancing the cooperation, better utilisation of fisheries resources, exchanges of expertise and joint research activities.

Regional Centre for Science and Technology Transfer (RCSTT)

Established in 2008 in the Islamic Republic of Iran, RCSTT aims to facilitate the transfer of sustainable and appropriate technology to, and between, Member States.

The IORA Special Fund is a financial mechanism for supporting projects and programmes adopted by IORA within the identified priority areas.

21 Member States

7 Dialogue Partners

Priorities & Focus Areas

Celebrating Twenty Years


Specialised Agencies of IORA

IORA Special Fund

IORA Chair

The Council of Ministers elect the IORA Chair for a period of two years. This is based on the voluntary offer by a Member State to become the Chair. If there is no voluntary offer, the Chair will be elected on the basis of geographical consideration. List of IORA Chairs to date are as below:

Republic of Mauritius 1997 1998
Republic of Mozambique 1999
Republic of Mozambique 2000
Sultanate of Oman 2001
Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka 2003 2004
Islamic Republic of Iran 2006 2008
Republic of Yemen 2009 2010
Republic of India 2011 2012
Commonwealth of Australia 2013 2014
Republic of Indonesia 2015 2017
Republic of South Africa 2017 2019
United Arab Emirates 2019 2021

IORA Secretariat

The Secretariat manages, coordinates, services and monitors the implementation of policy decisions and work programmes adopted by IORA. It is based in Mauritius and overseen by a Secretary General who is appointed for a 3-year period.

3rd Floor, Tower I, NeXTeracom Building, Cybercity, Ebene, Republic of Mauritius
T: +230 454 1717 | F: +230 468 1161
E: | W: